Harriet Ellis Healthcare Equity Award

The Healthcare Equity Award has been established in September 2020 by the NYC chapter to honor a member(s) of the city society who has made a significant contribution or effort to reduce healthcare disparities in the NYC area.

The award will be named in honor of NYCSHP Past President Harriet Ellis (1982-1983).


  • Establish a commitment to health equity through research and/or quality improvement project
  • Help establish a best practice model in the NYC area
  • Increase awareness of health disparities among pharmacy & healthcare professionals
  • Promoting a diverse collaborative pharmacy workforce

Harriet Ellis Healthcare Equity Award Recipients:

2023Amber Johnson
2022Elsen Jacob
2021 Vickie Powell