Pharmacy Advocacy Award

NYCSHP established this award in 2017 to recognize an exemplary member who has made significant contributions to the Society and the profession through their commitment to pharmacy advocacy on the local, state, and/or federal level and through active participation and leadership within the New York City Advocacy Committee. Candidates should consistently promote ASHP and NYSCHP public policy goals, which support health-system pharmacists’ role in improving patient access and outcomes, through education of their fellow members and engagement with their communities. Each candidate must meet or exceed each of the following criteria in order to be eligible for this award:


  • Nominee must be a NYCSHP (primary NYC chapter) member
  • Nominee is encouraged to have experience working or volunteering in a health-system pharmacy practice (i.e. hospital, long-term care, industry, managed care, etc.)
  • The individual must have attended 50% of the monthly membership meetings
  • Nominee must have participated in NYCSHP activities throughout the year, including active participation in the Advocacy committee
  • Nominee has made sustained contributions to pharmacy public policy priorities on the local, state, or federal level through involvement with NYCSHP
  • Candidate is highly regarded by students, peers, other health care practitioners, and/or members of the public as a role model pharmacy advocate

NYCSHP New Practitioner Award Recipients: 

2023Tamara Hernandez
2022Shanice Coriolan
2020Lilia Davenport
2019Shireen Farzadeh